The state of Colorado has the third highest rate of auto theft in the country. While extensive efforts are in place across the state to help combat this crime, it is still prevalent in many areas.
If you are arrested for this crime, you may wonder, “Is vehicle theft a felony in Colorado?”
This is a good question and one that does not come with a black-and-white answer. The charges and potential penalties you face for auto theft depend on several factors. Contact our car theft lawyers to learn more.
In Colorado, auto theft is prosecuted as aggravated motor vehicle theft. If you are arrested for stealing a vehicle in the state, you can face first-degree or second-degree auto theft charges.
If you are wondering, what is the minimum sentence for grand theft auto in Colorado, you are in the right place.
You will face this charge if you knowingly steal a vehicle without authorization or use deception or threats. Additionally, you have:
You can face this charge if you knowingly steal a vehicle without authorization or use deception or threats. However, this charge applies if none of the listed elements above are involved.
First-degree theft of a motor vehicle in Colorado is always a felony charge.
Since it is a felony, it comes with a driver’s license revocation of one year. The fines are assessed, and the prison sentence depends on the value of the stolen vehicle.
The potential penalties for stealing a vehicle based on value include the following:
If the vehicle’s value is under $20,000, it is charged as a Class 5 felony. If convicted, you face a potential penalty of one to three years in prison, a two-year mandatory parole term, and fines of $1,000 to $100,000.
If the vehicle’s value is between $20,000 and $100,000, it is charged as a Class 4 felony. If convicted, the potential penalties for this crime include a prison sentence of two to six years with a mandatory three-year parole term and fines between $2,000 and $500,000.
If the vehicle’s value is $100,000 or higher, it is charged as a Class 3 felony. If convicted, the potential penalties for this crime include a prison sentence of four to 12 years with a mandatory five-year parole term and fines between $3,000 and $750,000.
An important note Is that if you are convicted of auto theft a third time, regardless of the vehicle’s value, it will always be charged as a Class 3 felony. This crime carries a potential punishment of four to 12 years in jail with a mandatory parole term of five years. You will also face fines of $3,000 to $750,000.
The potential penalties for a conviction of aggravated motor vehicle theft in the second degree can be either a misdemeanor or felony based on the vehicle’s value.
If the value of the vehicle stolen was less than $2,000, it is charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, it carries a jail sentence of up to 364 days and fines of up to $1,000.
If the value of the vehicle stolen ranges from $2,000 to under $20,000, it is charged as a Class 6 felony. If convicted, it carries a jail sentence of one to one and a half years and a mandatory parole term of one year. You will also face fines of $1,000 to $100,000.
If the vehicle’s value is more than $20,000, upon conviction, you face a prison sentence of one to three years and a mandatory parole term of two years. You will also face fines of $1,000 up to $100,000.
If you are facing auto theft charges in Colorado, you may have more questions. Some of the questions that may be asked and answers are found here.
If you discover your car is stolen, make sure you are somewhere safe. The thief may still be around, and they may have a weapon.
Once you are sure you are safe, contact the authorities. Let the police know your vehicle has been stolen and provide any information you can about it. Some details to include in your report include the following:
Once you contact the authorities, file a claim with your auto insurance provider. You may also want to contact the Colorado DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles).
If your vehicle was leased or financed, be sure to notify the leasing company or lender. For situations where you had personal property in the vehicle, you can file a claim with your renter’s insurance or homeowner’s insurance policy.
Sometimes, vehicle owners leave their credit and debit cards in their vehicles. If this is the case, be sure to notify your creditors so they can watch for unauthorized purchases or cancel the cards so they cannot be used.
Some of the vehicles that are most reported stolen in Colorado include the following:
In some situations, the vehicles are stolen for the parts, especially the catalytic converters.
From 2017 to July 2022, there have been arrests for just 10 percent of car thefts in the state of Colorado. This means that if your car is stolen, the possibility of recovery is minimal.
If you have had questions like, “what is the difference between grand theft auto and auto theft,” you should have found the answers here. However, if you are in this situation, you may feel confused, overwhelmed, and even scared.
While this can be difficult, you must try to remain calm, take the right steps, and avoid some of the most common mistakes.
When you are arrested, you may be tempted to tell your side of the story. This is not a good idea. Not only will it not work, but you may say something that the police can use against you.
Instead, provide basic information, such as your name and home address, and then invoke your right to remain silent. This will ensure you do not say something that may be used to get a conviction for the crime you have been charged with.
You should not wait to contact an attorney. If you are charged with vehicle theft, you need someone to represent your interests and rights. The sooner you contact a lawyer, the sooner they can gather evidence for your case.
You may be tempted to share what happened on social media or even talk about it in the messenger app. This is also a bad idea. If found, anything you say here can be used against you. It may hurt your case and ability to minimize the charges you are facing.
Knowing what to expect is a good idea if you are facing vehicle theft charges in Colorado. The information here provides a good overview of what penalties you may face if you are convicted.
If you have more questions about the situation, such as, “What level of felony is grand theft auto,” contact the Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani. Our legal team can review the facts of your case and get to work right away to help reduce or eliminate the charges against you.
We are here to help and will provide you with the aggressive defense you need for your case. Contact us today to set up an initial consultation to discuss your situation.
What Are Common Penalties for Theft in Denver?
Being charged with theft in Colorado comes with severe consequences if convicted. This is true regardless of whether or not the crime is charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. A theft conviction can destroy your career and cause other unexpected consequences.
Conviction of a theft crime can have especially harsh consequences on someone’s life plan and affect their housing options, employment, the ability to start a business, school needs, and professional licensing.
In Colorado, theft crimes are also called “crimes of moral turpitude.” These types of crimes can stigmatize you, and unlike other criminal convictions, like possessing marijuana, theft-related charges negatively impact your personal reputation and character.
To many, theft is considered a more serious crime than others. This is true even if they carry the same potential punishment.
If you plead guilty to a theft crime, even a minor one like shoplifting, you need to seek the help of a legal professional. At the Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani, LLC, we can provide information and answers to any questions you have, such as:
We will provide you with the answers to any questions you have and help you build a defense against the charges you are facing. Here you can learn more about theft charges and theft defense strategies.
Theft, also called larceny, is a term that includes many different criminal defenses. The basic elements of theft in Colorado include an action that is done to deprive someone permanently of an item or money.
The law specifically states the following:
That a defendant in the State of Colorado, at or about the date and place charged, knowingly, obtained, retained, or exercised control over anything of value of another, without authorization or by threat or deception and intended to deprive the other person permanently of the use or benefit of the thing of value.
As mentioned above, theft in Colorado includes taking anything of value that belongs to someone else without consent from that person. Depending on the value of the stolen property, theft may be a petty offense, a misdemeanor, or even a felony.
If force, intimidation, or threats are involved in taking property from someone, it is considered a robbery. This is always charged as a felony in Colorado.
A burglary occurs if you enter a property wrongfully to steal something or commit another crime. It is always a felony.
The potential penalties for burglary, robbery, and theft are much more serious than you may expect. They often include several years in prison in Colorado, especially in situations where someone was harmed or if the goal was to obtain any controlled substance.
You can find details related to theft in Colorado in Title 18, Article 4 of the C.R.S. The value of the items stolen depends on the possible penalties that you will face and includes the following:
While the penalties for a theft conviction start low, they increase quickly as the value of stolen items increases. If the stolen property is worth $1,000,000 or more, then a conviction can result in a prison sentence of 24 years (or more).
If you are facing misdemeanor theft charges, the potential penalties include the following:
The district attorney prosecuting your case may wish to make the “victim whole.” This means they recover compensation on their behalf. In these cases, you may be ordered to pay restitution. The amount you will be ordered to pay can vary from one case to another, but restitution is on top of additional fines you are issued.
The best defense for theft charges in Colorado depends on the arrest circumstances. However, some of the offenses that may be effective include the following:
Hiring an attorney is recommended in these situations since they can evaluate the charges you face and create a custom defense strategy. This is the best way to get the quality and effective defense you need in these situations.
If you are facing criminal theft charges, our criminal defense attorney at the Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani is here to help. We can evaluate your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to.
Don’t wait to seek legal counsel as it can help you overcome the charges you are facing. Contact us today for a free consultation.
What Are Common Penalties for Theft in Denver?
In Colorado, theft is called a crime of moral turpitude. You can face theft charges for several different reasons and in several ways.
Theft convictions in the state will result in you having a permanent criminal record. This can impact your finances and your career. You must understand the potential theft charges you can face, which will help you avoid them.
If you are arrested for theft, you have legal options. We recommend contacting our legal team at the Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani, LLC, for assistance.
It is also important to note that the theft laws in Colorado cover many different offenses, including shoplifting, theft of services or property, theft by deception, embezzlement, extortion, and theft by receiving stolen goods or property. Here, you can learn more about these crimes and the potential penalties you will face if convicted.
The state of Colorado has a broad definition of theft. While it includes what is generally accepted as theft, like stealing money, vehicles, or property, it also includes the unlawful acquisition of any item of value by deception or threat or knowing that the property is stolen. For an act to be considered theft, the individual being charged with the crime (the defendant) must have the intention of depriving the owner of that property or the use of it permanently or demand that the rightful owner provide monetary compensation (or other compensation) to have it returned.
With this definition, theft includes receiving stolen property, shoplifting, extorting, embezzling, and stealing. According to the law, it is also illegal to intentionally misrepresent eligibility to receive public assistance or benefits.
Like in many other states, the law in Colorado has classified theft as a felony or misdemeanor based on the stolen item’s value. Here you can learn more about the different levels of theft as defined by Colorado Revised Statute 18-4-401.
There are three different levels of petty and misdemeanor theft in Colorado. These include the following:
Theft charges will become felonies if the stolen services or goods reach $2,000. There are five classifications of Grand or Felony theft in the state. Are you curious as to what the five types of theft are? If so, find the information here.
If someone is considered a habitual felon, which is someone who has been convicted of multiple felonies, then the maximum possible sentence is increased significantly. The specific sentence depends on the person’s prior convictions and the amount of time that has passed between each conviction.
Usually, someone who is a third-time felon will be punished with a sentence that is three times the maximum sentence (as described above).
Shoplifting is also considered theft in Colorado. The value of the product or item that a person conceals or shoplifts will determine the charges and potential penalties.
If someone is convicted of shoplifting within four years of their third felony theft that involves items taken from a store, they will receive the minimum sentence and not be considered eligible for a suspended sentence or probation.
You likely have questions if you are facing theft charges in Colorado. Common questions we get include:
Here you have a basic overview of the answers to these questions. This information will help you know what to expect if you ever face any of these crimes.
Also, if arrested for theft, be sure to contact our legal team at the Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani, LLC, for help and information. We can review the facts of your case and help you build a strong defense. Our goal is to help you achieve the best possible outcome for the charges you are facing.
While there are no guarantees when it comes to criminal cases involving theft, we have years of experience representing clients in similar situations. We can use our experience, expertise, and resources to help you with your situation.
What Are the Common Penalties for Theft in Denver?
When most people think of theft, they envision a masked individual robbing a bank or jewels from a museum. While these are certainly types of theft, they are not the only ones.
Any time you take something without someone else’s permission – to deprive them of it – you are committing theft. This includes shoplifting, pickpocketing, and even some types of fraud.
Of course, not all acts of theft are equal. Some are much more serious than others and can result in felony charges. This is usually the case when violence is involved or when large sums of money or valuable property are taken.
Whatever the circumstances, if you are caught stealing in Denver, you can expect serious penalties. These may include jail time, probation, and restitution to the victim.
Read on for everything you need to know about theft penalties in Denver, Colorado, and how our team at The Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani, LLC, can help you avoid them.
In Denver, Colorado, theft occurs when a person knowingly and unlawfully takes or exercises control over another person’s property with the intent to permanently or temporarily deprive them of its use.
Colorado law recognizes several types of theft, including shoplifting, burglary, identity theft, and auto theft. The penalties for theft can vary depending on the value of the property stolen, the type of property stolen, and how it was taken. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani, LLC, have experience handling all types of theft cases in Denver and can help you understand the charges against you.
Often, people use the terms “theft” and “burglary” interchangeably. However, there is a key distinction between the two crimes.
Generally speaking, burglary requires unlawful entry into a building with the intent to commit another crime. This could mean breaking into a home to steal valuables, or it could simply involve trespassing with the intent to commit an act of vandalism.
On the other hand, theft is taking something of value without the owner’s consent. This could involve shoplifting, pickpocketing, or even identity theft.
If caught stealing in Denver, your penalties will depend on the property value or cash you took. If the value is more than $50 but less than $2,000, it’s considered a misdemeanor crime. The sentence you receive will be based on the value of the item taken and your criminal history.
The penalties for misdemeanor theft offenses are as follows:
If you’re stuck, a Denver theft lawyer can help you understand the charges against you and the penalties you may face. Talk to our attorneys at The Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani, LLC, to learn more about your options.
Felony theft charges in Colorado are serious business, and the penalties increase dramatically as the value of the goods or stolen cash increases.
If you commit a felony theft offense, contact a Denver criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. They can help you navigate the criminal justice system and fight for a favorable outcome in your case.
Colorado’s new firearm theft law is designed to help keep guns out of the hands of criminals. The law, which took effect in July 2020, reclassifies firearms theft committed during a second-degree burglary as a Class 3 felony.
As a Class 3 felony, judges can sentence convicted offenders to a fine of up to $750,000 and a prison sentence of four to 12 years. The bill was sponsored by Republicans and Democrats in the General Assembly, although it did not quite gain unanimous support.
Before this law took effect, firearms theft was classified as a Class 4 felony punishable by a prison sentence of two to six years.
In other words, the new law doubles the time offenders could spend behind bars. The hope is that by increasing the penalties for gun theft, criminals will think twice before breaking into homes and businesses to steal firearms.
Only time will tell if the new law effectively deters crime, but it is certainly a step in the right direction.
Auto theft is a big problem in Colorado. In fact, the state has ranked number one in the nation for auto theft rates. And in the first six months of 2022, the trend has continued, with a 17.2% increase in motor vehicle theft. That means that criminals have stolen 24,044 vehicles so far this year – 3,463 more than the same period last year.
As you can imagine, the penalties for auto theft are quite severe. Colorado takes auto theft seriously – first-degree aggravated automobile theft is always a felony.
Depending on the vehicle’s value and the defendant’s criminal history, penalties include 1-12 years in Colorado State Prison and $1,000-$750,000 in fines.
Second-degree aggravated automobile theft is almost always a felony, with 1-3 years in prison and $1,000-$100,000 in fines possible.
The only time it’s a misdemeanor is when the vehicle is worth less than $2,000 and the defendant has no more than one prior auto-theft conviction – in which case the penalties are up to 364 days in jail and $1,000 in fines.
Steven J. Pisani, LLC is a Denver, Colorado-based law firm that provides high-quality legal representation to those accused of theft and other crimes. If you or someone you know has been charged with a theft crime, contact us today for a free consultation.
If you’ve been charged with theft in Denver, you must understand the possible penalties you may face. The severity of the charge will depend on the value of the property stolen and any previous convictions on your record.
A first-time offender can expect to pay a fine and may also have to perform community service. However, more serious charges can result in jail time.
If you’re facing theft charges, speak to our team of Denver criminal defense lawyers. We have extensive experience in this area of the law and can help you get the best possible outcome in your case. Call us today at (303) 529-2825 to schedule a free consultation.
Theft crimes are extremely common in Denver. If you are charged with theft, there’s no question the situation can be confusing and intimidating.
Colorado criminal law isn’t easy to understand. Because of that, one of the best things you can do is to hire a Denver criminal defense attorney. Our team at The Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani is ready to defend your case and help you understand the charges you are facing.
While hiring an attorney to help with your case is a smart move, it’s also helpful to understand the different theft charges you may face in Denver.
In the state of Colorado, theft is defined as taking and keeping something that is not yours when you do not receive permission from the item’s owner.
However, theft often extends beyond this rather simple definition. In some situations, theft may also include individuals who did not actively steal something but provided aid to the individual who did.
For example, if you attempt to sell a stolen item to a pawn show, and the pawnbroker knows the item is stolen but purchase it anyway, they can also be charged with theft. Also, if someone helps to dispose of a stolen item, they may be charged with theft.
The deciding factor in this is knowing if the goods are stolen. Once you find out, then you are also considered liable if you do anything besides telling the police.
Denver theft laws include several types of illegal behavior. This includes everything from embezzling money from your employer to shoplifting at a retail establishment.
All these crimes relate to one another because theft involves taking something of value that belongs to another person without permission and then hiding, keeping, or selling it so the owner cannot recover the item or items.
Colorado theft laws are written using broad terms. They also involve several types of theft crimes:
Colorado also has several specific laws that cover different illegal behaviors, such as:
If you are charged with any type of theft, you need to understand what the charges actually mean.
The type of theft and worth of the item or items taken determine if you are charged with a misdemeanor or felony.
Theft is considered a misdemeanor in some situations. These include:
If you steal something worth under $50, you are charged with class 1 petty theft. This charge comes with a fine of up to $500 and/or up to six months in jail.
Theft may also be charged as a felony. This occurs if the value of the item stolen is more than the limits mentioned above. Felony charges include:
If you are convicted of any felony theft charge for stealing from a location in four years, it means you receive a mandatory sentence of the minimum term allowed. Also, there will be no chance for a suspended sentence or parole in this situation.
For situations where you steal from a person, instead of breaking into a business or home, you are charged with a class 5 felony automatically. The charge will be kept in place, no matter the value of the item or items you took.
If you steal something that is worth $1 million or more, you may receive the maximum sentence for theft. This would be a class 2 felony charge and have a prison sentence of eight to 24 years. You would also be on parole for five years.
Along with this hefty sentence, you will likely be ordered to pay a significant fine. It is at the court’s discretion to decide what to charge you with.
If you have been charged with any type of theft crime in Denver, contact our team at the Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani. You can call us at (303) 529-2242 to set up a free initial consultation to discuss your case.
A mother in Michigan was recently arrested for taking her daughter’s cell phone as a form of punishment.
The entire ordeal was one large miscommunication stemming from the mother’s ex-husband calling the police to tell them she had stolen an iPhone 6 from their daughter.
The father claimed to own the phone, but in actuality, it had been a Christmas gift from the man to the daughter. The mother, Ms. Jodie May, was picked up by police and taken to a holding cell. She was released on a $200 bond shortly after.
Ms. May was charged with misdemeanor larceny and larceny by conversion but maintained that she was just being “a concerned parent” and disciplining her daughter. Upon reviewing the case and speaking with Ms. May’s daughter, the prosecuting attorney dismissed the charges.
However, one is still left wondering how such a ridiculous case could have possibly gone as far as it did.
If you have a case that needs review and assistance, contact The Law Offices of Steven J Pisani, we specialize in DUI, traffic, and criminal defense. Call our Denver office today for a free consultation at 303-635-6768.
Newsweek, James Hetherington, September 21st, 2018
OJ Simpson is reportedly up for parole after nine years in prison for his role in a Las Vegas armed robbery. Simpson, who is 70 years old, could be out as soon as October 1, 2017 if the Nevada Board of Parole Commissioners deems him ready. According to close friend Tom Scotto, Simpson’s plan if granted parole is to either move back to Florida and live with Scotto, or to move to Sacramento and live with his sister, Shirley Baker.
Scotto claims that Simpson is “very positive” about his parole chances, and that the former NFL running back still has money despite the $2-3 million in legal fees he faced from the 2008 case.
OJ has also reportedly lost around 70 pounds since his first parole hearing in 2013, and has had no behavioral issues or writeups while incarcerated in the Las Vegas prison. He has also spent his time watching NFL games and coaching softball, and even started a Baptist church within the prison.
Hopefully Simpson’s good behavior continues outside of prison if he is granted parole, as his history with the law is not one to be proud of. If he sticks to playing golf and keeping his head low, maybe he can live out the rest of his life in peace.
That is not to say that Parole is easy. Mr. Simpson would still potentially be monitored, have regular check-ins and could go back to prison if he violates the terms of the parole.
The Law Offices of Steven J Pisani specialize in DUI, traffic, and criminal defense. Call our Denver office today for a free consultation at 303-635-6768.
USA Today Sports, Josh Peter, 7/17/2017