If a person commits a crime, the punishment for that crime will depend on the crime classification. This can be either a misdemeanor or a felony.
A misdemeanor offense is a criminal offense that’s typically less serious than a felony and whose punishment is less severe than that of a felony.
In Colorado, a general misdemeanor may include crimes such as disorderly behavior, forgery, stalking, internet crimes, and resisting arrests.
A driving misdemeanor can be handed out if the driver ends up causing an injury or the death of another person.
Most people will rush to hire a lawyer when charged with or even suspected of a crime. So do you need a lawyer for a misdemeanor charge in Denver? Absolutely!
If you or your partner has been charged with a misdemeanor, do not underestimate the seriousness of your situation. You could go to jail for 24 months.
Besides, what you probably consider a small matter may result in a lifelong consequence, including loss of your right to employment and housing? Don’t suffer alone. Call our Denver misdemeanor attorney today at (303) 635-6768 for assistance.
Misdemeanors are in three categories that range from the least severe in class 3 to the most serious in class 1. All misdemeanors in Colorado are handled by the lower courts and can be Class 1, Class 2, or Class 3 misdemeanors.
At this point, it’s important to point out that a misdemeanor sentence can have severe and far-reaching long-term consequences – including a negative assessment of your chances to obtain employment and housing.
What’s more, a misdemeanor conviction cannot be erased from your record and may remain on your record for life.
This is where a misdemeanor defense attorney comes in. It is crucial that if you’re facing a misdemeanor charge, you hire a knowledgeable criminal attorney to ensure the outcome of your case is best.
If you’ve never faced a criminal case, you’re likely to get confused by the events’ sequence in a misdemeanor case.
Every misdemeanor case starts with some contact with law enforcement agents. An investigation then follows.
If you get arrested, you must be arraigned in court in the next 48-hours, excluding weekends and public holidays, unless you post bail or collateral promising to appear in court soon.
If you’re not arrested, then the police can get an arrest warrant from a judge or file a complaint against you, now called the defendant. If you fail to appear in court for the arraignment, the judge can issue a bench warrant.
The defense is a reason that excuses or justifies a criminal act. If you assert a defense in a misdemeanor, you can be given a lesser sentence, or set free.
Drunkenness: The two defenses to drunkenness are habitual drunkenness and willful drunkenness.
Involuntary drunkenness happens when the defendant gets drunk without wanting to.
Involuntary drunkenness can happen against the defendant’s wish.
However, involuntary drunkenness can be a defense to crimes requiring explicit expectation.
For instance, to convict a defendant of assault, the prosecution must prove the intent to commit a battery.
Getting charged with any misdemeanor can be a daunting experience. And can have a devastating effect on your future relationships.
But you need not face the criminal justice system on your own. If you hire an experienced attorney, you can draw from their experience in law and defend you against the charges facing you.
Your attorney will examine all potential defenses for your charges. He will also investigate how the available evidence against you was collected, especially if the method of obtaining the evidence was legal or not. He will ascertain if the evidence is valid and what options are available for negotiating a plea bargain.
In most misdemeanor charges, working with a Denver misdemeanor attorney improves the outcome of your case.
At the Law Office of Steven J. Pisani, we provide flexible hours and appointment times. Our robust trial record in Colorado and the high rate of client satisfaction shows that we’ve got your best interests. Please call us today at 303-635-6768.