Driving under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicating substances is a serious crime in Denver. You may face hefty fines and serious penalties. Therefore. It’s best to learn the basics of DUI, understand the regulations associated with these issues, and try to stay out of trouble. Here are five important things you should know about DUI in Denver.
It is illegal to drive under the influence. In Colorado, it’s known as DUI. That means you should not drive with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of 0.08% or more. It is also illegal to be in charge of a vehicle or drive while your ability is impaired (DWAI). Therefore, you shouldn’t drive when your BAC is 0.05% or more. For all drivers under the age of 21, it is against the law to drive with a BAC of 0.02%.
The penalties imposed for DUI offenses in Denver vary. Some of the factors that contribute to this variation include;
The estimated BAC
Prior DUI or DWAI convictions
Type of license
The impairing substances
The experience and skills of the driver’s lawyer
The personality and beliefs of the judge hearing the case
Presence of minors in the vehicle
The consequences of the offense (this could be injuries, property damage, and more)
If you are charged with DUI, consider talking to an experienced attorney. He or she can help you understand a few complex elements of Colorado’s DUI laws and represent your best interests during the hearings.
If you’re 21 years or older and convicted of DUI for the first time, you will face up to 12 months’ imprisonment. Your driving license will be suspended for nine months, and you will be required to take an alcohol education course. You might be asked to pay a fine of $600 to $1000 and up to 96 hours of community service. The penalty for the first DWAI is up to 180 days’ imprisonment. About eight points will be added to the offender’s driving record, pay a fine of $200 to $500, and serve up to 48 community services.
If a driver under the age of 21 is convicted of DUI or DWAI, their driving license will be suspended for three months and four points added to their driving record. Note that penalties are likely to increase greatly for repeated crimes. Depending on the judge and unique circumstances associated with the offense, some DUI offenders may have ignition interlock devices installed in their vehicles.
If a law enforcement officer suspects that you are violating DUI regulations, they might ask you to take a sobriety test. This could be a chemical test or field sobriety test. All states require drivers to take a chemical test (alcohol breath test). On the other hand, no state requires drivers to take a field sobriety test. So, you can choose to take the test or decline. Contact your attorney before taking any tests. Remember, refusing to take a sobriety test could be used as evidence against you.
The best way to avoid DUI-related arrests is by abstaining from alcohol and other intoxicating substances. Also, you can use public transportation or ask a friend to drive you home. Enjoying alcohol isn’t bad, but you should never drink and drive.
If you get arrested for DUI-related offenses, contact an experienced Denver DUI attorney at the Law Office of Steven J. Pisani immediately. Our legal team has in-depth understanding of the DUI regulations in Colorado and can help you.