Serving People Throughout Colorado

Call Us For Free Consultation:

Denver Reckless Driving Charges Lawyer

You probably know that reckless driving laws exist in Colorado. What you may not know is what precisely constitutes reckless driving behavior or the punishment for it. Did you also know Colorado has a separate offense for reckless driving?

Why Reckless Driving is a Serious Crime

Reckless driving is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor, and if you are accused of committing it, then you are deemed to have committed a crime.

Reckless driving can result in a six-month suspension of your driving license and up to 12 months in jail. A conviction can even cost you your job and security clearance.

If you’re convicted of reckless driving, you may be asked to disclose the conviction on background checks when applying for a job, higher education, and it can also prevent you from enlisting in the army or becoming a lawyer.

A reckless driving charge cannot be expunged. If you get unlucky to be convicted of reckless driving, it remains in your driving record forever. The only way to clear your history is by hiring a Traffic Violations attorney to have the charges dismissed or dropped.

In Colorado, the points in a reckless driving ticket are as follows:

  • Reckless driving: 8 points.
  • Careless driving: 4 points.
  • Speeding: 1-12 points, depending on MPH over the speed limit.
  • Failure to show proof of insurance: 4 points.

If you have a reckless driving conviction, police will not be keen to give you warnings for simple traffic violations, and courts will be less lenient towards you in the future.

It’s essential to understand the distinction between reckless and careless driving, especially if you have been pulled over and face a ticket or criminal charge.

Here is a brief explanation of the two traffic offenses:

Reckless Driving Definition and Penalties

In Colorado, reckless driving is deemed a misdemeanor offense. It is defined as intentionally operating a vehicle in a manner that endangers other people and property. If you’re a first offender, you may be hit with a fine of between $150 and $300 or 10 to 90 days in jail. If you’re a repeat offender, you could get up to six months in prison or a fine of $1000.

A reckless driving charge can result in several administrative penalties. The most popular penalty is the addition of points on your driving record, which can result in a license suspension and high insurance rates.

Careless Driving Definition and Penalties

An inadvertent driving offense attracts a milder form of punishment that reckless driving. The implication is that behavior and intent are not as dangerous as reckless driving.

Since Colorado law treats careless driving as a misdemeanor, the penalties applied are similar to reckless driving. However, fewer points are added to the driving record.

Other Considerations

Penalties for careless or reckless driving are usually issued with extra charges. If the consequences after careless and reckless driving result in injuries or death, the penalties may be harsher. If you cause death to another person, you may get charged with vehicular homicide.

The consequences of careless or reckless driving charges can be serious. And this is where the Law Office of Steven J. Pisani comes into the picture. Our experienced attorney can help you fight reckless driving charges aggressively in court and get a much less penalty or have the case dismissed altogether.

What are the Common Types of Reckless Driving?

Here are some common examples of reckless driving in Colorado:

  • Speeding
  • 25 miles over the posted speed sign
  • Tailgating
  • Illegal passing
  • Weaving through traffic
  • Ignoring traffic signs and signals
  • Driving a car with defective brakes or other hazardous faults
  • Racing other vehicles
  • Escaping from a law enforcement officer after being stopped

Finding the Right Denver Reckless Driving Lawyer

If you’re searching for an attorney to hold a brief on your reckless driving charge in Colorado, you should consider whether the lawyer is going to spend time talking to you and pointing out what is essential. You should know, just by chatting with your potential attorney, about his level of commitment to help.

Next, you should inquire whether the attorney is a professional and possesses the experience to handle it.
Of course, you need someone who can handle any surprises that the prosecution can bring up. And someone with knowledge about how traffic courts operate.

Your lawyer should know how to navigate evidence issues and, most importantly, defend you where it matters most, the courtroom.

Why Contact the Law Office of Steven J. Pisani?

The Law Office of Steven J. Pisani has the experience to handle reckless driving charges and is readily accessible. Call us today at (303) 635-6768 to get legal advice on how to beat your reckless driving charges. Our legal team has handled these cases in the past and knows what to do to help you.

Contact Us for a FREE Consultation

Call 303.635.6768 or Click Below to Talk to an Attorney

Why Hire Pisani Law Office?

Over a Decade Defending the Right of Colorado Residents
More Than a Thousand Cases Handled
5 Star Rated on Google and AVVO
Member of National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers and Colorado Juvenile Defender Coalition
Awarded AVVO Client Choice Award 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Request a FREE Case Review