DUI Defense

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a criminal offense in the state of Colorado. Denver DUI lawyer Steven J. Pisani is one of Denver’s top DUI lawyers. DUI means that an individual operated a motor vehicle and they were physically and/or mentally impaired by the consumption of alcohol or drugs. Law enforcement officers can stop any motor vehicle if they have a reasonable suspicion that a violation of the law has been committed. During the traffic stop, the officer can legally check the driver to ensure they are not under the influence of any kind of intoxication.

Typically vehicles are stopped for weaving, driving the wrong way down a street, or not having headlamps turned on when required. During the course of the stop, if the officer notices behavior consistent with intoxication, they may ask the driver to complete a series of standardized field sobriety tests (SFST’s). Poor performance on these tests may give the officer enough probable cause to suspect DUI and subsequently arrest the driver. After arrest, the officer should request a chemical test of the driver’s blood or breath to determine the level of intoxication.

Some conditions under which you can be arrested and convicted for Driving Under The Influence (DUI):

  • If you are significantly unable to drive a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol, drugs or prescription medication.
  • If there is at least .08% of blood alcohol concentration in your body (for adults 21 and older).

What are the consequences of a DUI conviction?

If you face a DUI conviction, even a first time offense, there are long lasting consequences:

  • Imprisonment between 5 days and 1 year
  • Probation for up to 2 years
  • Court‐ordered alcohol treatment for up to 9 months
  • Monitored sobriety
  • Travel restrictions
  • Community service for up to 96 hours
  • Loss of driving privileges
  • Higher insurance rates (Auto/Life/Health)

 

How can an experienced Denver DUI Lawyer assist you with your DUI Defense?

We will assist you by:

  • Educating you about your legal rights
  • Discussing the possible consequences of an impaired conviction
  • Examining the circumstance surrounding your police contact
  • Taking action to save your driver’s license
  • Reviewing the facts to determine relevant legal issues
  • Scrutinizing the validity of chemical tests and other evidence
  • Presenting a compelling defense, including representation at court, plea negotiations and jury trial
  • Answering all of your questions about the legal procedures involved
  • Assisting you with treatment & counseling if necessary

We are one of the renowned and well experienced law firms in Colorado when it comes to DUI law. Contact Denver DUI Lawyer Steven J. Pisani today for a free consultation.

 

Colorado Drunk Driving Penalties (Offense on or after July 1, 2010)

OFFENSE PENALTY
1st DUI 5 days-1 year jail, the court can suspend jail with an alcohol evaluation, alcohol classes, monitored abstinence, 48-96 hours useful public service, up to 2 years probation.
1st DUI, with greater than 0.20 BAC 10 days – 1 year jail, the court cannot suspend 10 days, alcohol classes, monitored abstinence, 48-96 hours useful public service, up to 2 years probation.
1st DWAI 2 days – 6 months jail, the court can suspend jail with an alcohol evaluation, alcohol classes, monitored abstinence, 24-48 hours useful public service, up to 2 years probation.
2nd DUI within 5 years of prior alcohol based driving offense 10 days – 1 year jail, the court cannot suspend the 10 days. For the 10 days: must be served consecutive, no earned time, no good time, level II alcohol classes, monitored abstinence, 48-120 hours useful public service, 2 to 4 years probation.
2nd DUI with prior alcohol based driving offense older than 5 years 10 days – 1 year jail, the court cannot suspend the 10 days. For the 10 days: must be served consecutive, no earned time, no good time, level II alcohol classes, monitored abstinence, 48-120 hours useful public service, 2 to 4 years probation.
3rd DUI 60 days – 1 year jail, the court cannot suspend the 60 days. For the 60 days: must be served consecutive, no earned time, no good time, level II alcohol classes, monitored abstinence, 48-120 hours useful public service, 2 to 4 years probation.

CONTACT US FOR FREE CONSULTATION

Blog

Between May 24 and May 28, 2019, Colorado police arrested 322 people suspected of DUI. This number is higher than

Read More

Tracy Morgan was sideswiped 15 minutes after driving his brand- new $2.5 million Bugatti off the dealer lot. This incident

Read More

OUR SERVICES

Sometimes people are falsely accused or they simply made a bad decision. Even in cases that seem identical, nuances can dramatically change the outcome. Our top priority is always to protect our client’s interests and use our expertise to get them free from the charges in the court. We make all lawfully possible efforts to save our clients from harsh punishment. Even if a punishment is compulsory, we make efforts to reduce the penalty or detention.