Steven J. Pisani is a well-known driving under the influence of drugs DUID defense attorney in Colorado with years of experience. Driving under the influence of drugs is commonly known as DUID and it has serious consequences in the state of Colorado. With the legalization of Marijuana in the state, law enforcement has stepped up its efforts to restrict driving under the influence of drugs. The charge of DUID similar to DUI or DWAI for driving under the influence of alcohol or driving while intoxicated. Today, almost every state has some sort of DUID crime on the books, however, the methods of testing and sentences differ far and wide.
Arrests In Case Of DUID
Most DUID arrests happen due to impairment observation of the law enforcement officers. The officers have advanced training to detect impairment from a range of substances and it helps them to easily identify DUID offenders. These officers are called Drug Recognition Experts or DRE’s. Their methodology has some basis in science, but it is far from conclusive.
Prosecution In Case Of DUID
- After arrest for DUID, an officer will request that you submit to a blood test. The blood sample will be submitted to a laboratory to determine what drugs if any are present and their concentration.
- In the case of driving under the influence of marijuana, a driver with an active THC concentration of 5 nanograms per milliliter of whole blood can be presumed to be under the influence.
- Some prescription or even over the counter medications can trigger a DUID charge. It is important that you speak to your doctor and understand how the medications will affect your ability to drive.
- Sometimes even without any blood test, an officer’s observations can serve as sufficient evidence at a trial for a conviction.
- If a defendant refuses to submit to a blood test, the refusal may be used against them at court as acknowledgement of impairment.
Colorado DUID Punishment Possibilities
- Jail, a minimum of 5 days but no more than one year.
- A fine of at least $600, but not exceeding $1000.
- Useful public service for at least 48 hours, but no more than 96 hours.
- The court may levy a probation period of not more than 2 years.
- Monitored sobriety
- Court ordered drug classes and treatment
- Loss of driving privilege
- Criminal record
The Pisani law firm provides complete criminal defense for DUID and has detailed knowledge of driving under the influence laws. It is best to consult your case without delay to get a clear idea your circumstances, and thus promote informed decision making, which could meaningfully improve the ultimate outcome of your case.